Skip to content
Skip to navigation menu


Controller of BBC Wales and Chairman of Artes Mundi Prize honoured by Cardiff University

09 July 2007

Personalities from the spheres of dentistry music, journalism, the environment and medicine are amongst those to be honoured by Cardiff University at its annual degree ceremonies (July 11, 16, 17 and 18).

Ms Menna Richards, Controller of BBC Wales and Mr William Wilkins CBE DL Hon FRIBA Chairman of the Artes Mundi Prize, an international art prize based in Cardiff, are amongst those receiving an honorary fellowship from the University.

As Controller of BBC Wales Ms Menna Richards is responsible for all of BBC Wales' services in English and Welsh on radio, television and online. (Ceremony: 17th July 10:30am). Mr Wilkins is also an artist and specialist in heritage and cultural regeneration and has exhibited in London, New York, San Francisco and Cardiff. (Ceremony: 11th July 10:30am)

The University will also confer Honorary Fellowships on the following in recognition of their outstanding achievement:

Mr John Belle, FAIA, RIBA a founding partner of Beyer Blinder Belle Architects and Planners. (Ceremony: 16th July 1:30pm)

Mr Huw Llywelyn Davies Chairman of the Cardiff National Eisteddfod Executive Committee for 2008. He is also BBC and S4C’s chief rugby commentator. (Ceremony: 16th July 4:30pm)

Mr Evan Davis the Economics Editor of the BBC. He is the most senior economics reporter in the BBC, responsible for analysing economic developments on a range of programmes on BBC radio and television, particularly the Ten O'Clock News. (Ceremony: 17th July 1:30pm)

Sir Peter Gershon CBE FREng Hon FIET Chairman of Premier Farnell plc, General Healthcare Group and Symbian Ltd. (Ceremony: July 17th 10:30am)

Dr Sue Greening Associate Clinical Director of the Community Dental Service in Gwent and most recently the elected President of the British Dental Association (Ceremony: 11th July 10:30am)

Mr Patrick Hannan the presenter of two weekly programmes on BBC Radio Wales. (Ceremony: 17th July 10:30am)

Professor Bryan Jones University Professor Emeritus in the Department of Chemistry at the University of Toronto. (Ceremony: 18th July 4:30pm)

Mr Saleem Asghar Kidwai OBE Chief Executive of the Ethnic Business Support Programme, an initiative to encourage and support members from the ethnic community at pre-business start-up stages. (Ceremony: 18th July 1:30pm)

Mr Roger Lewis the Group Chief Executive of the Welsh Rugby Union and the Millennium Stadium plc. (Ceremony: 17th July 1:30pm)

Sir Robert Margetts CBE FREng FIChemE, Chairman of Legal & General Group plc and Ensus plc. Sir Rob is also Chairman - Europe of Huntsman Corporation (USA) and Senior Independent Non-Executive Director of Anglo American plc. (Ceremony: 11th July 10:30am)

Professor Peter McGuffin Dean of the Institute of Psychiatry, King’s College London. His research, books and papers have been mainly on the genetics of normal and abnormal behaviour. (Ceremony: 11th July 1:30pm)

Mr John Metcalf one of the foremost composers working in Wales and is presently Artistic Director of the award-winning Vale of Glamorgan Festival. (Ceremony: 16th July 4:30pm)

Mr George Monbiot a journalist, author and environmental campaigner. His best-selling books include Heat: How to Stop the Planet Burning. (Ceremony: 16th July 4:30pm)

Ms Elaine Morgan is the author of The Descent of Woman and also contributes a weekly column to the Western Mail. (Ceremony: 17th July 4:30pm)

Professor Ian Nussey OBE MA PhD FREng HonFIET FIMechE FBCS is an Honorary Professor at School of Engineering (since 1986) and has worked for IBM (since 1963). (Ceremony: 16th July 1:30pm)

Ms Sara Parkin, OBE a Founder Director and Trustee of Forum for the Future, the leading UK sustainable development charity. (Ceremony: 17th July 4:30pm)

Professor Nigel Stott CBE FMedSci is Emeritus Professor of General Practice. (Ceremony: 11th July 1:30pm)

Miss Barbara Wilding CBE QPM CCMI FRSA the Chief Constable of South Wales Police. (Ceremony: 18th July 10:30am)


Notes to Editors:

1. Full biographies and photographs of the honorary fellows can be requested from the Public Relations Office: 029 2087 4499. Further graduation details can be found:

Cardiff University is recognised in independent government assessments as one of Britain’s leading teaching and research universities. Founded by Royal Charter in 1883, the University today combines impressive modern facilities and a dynamic approach to teaching and research. The University’s breadth of expertise in research and research-led teaching encompasses: the humanities; the natural, physical, health, life and social sciences; engineering and technology; preparation for a wide range of professions; and a longstanding commitment to lifelong learning. Cardiff is a member of the Russell Group of Britain’s leading research universities.

Visit the University website at:

Further Information:

Emma Darling,
Public Relations Office,
Cardiff University
Tel: 029 2087 4499