Skip to content
Skip to navigation menu

School Diary

To submit a new event for the school diary please use the following form or email mathswebteam@cf.ac.uk

October 2014

Monday 20th October

14:10: Analysis Seminar: Room: M/2.06
Speaker: Charles Batty (Oxford). Title: Tauberian theorems, operator semigroups, and rates of decay.

17:30: Operational Research and Statistics Seminar: Room: M/0.40
Speaker: Prof. Michael Carter (Toronto). Title: Health System Patient Flow Simulation Model.

Thursday 23rd October

15:10: Mathematical Physics Seminar: Room: M/2.06
Speaker: Jan Spakula (Southampton). Title: Operator theory and coarse geometry.

Saturday 25th October

University Open Day

Monday 27th October

14:10: Analysis Seminar: Room: M/2.06
Speaker: Aleksander Pushnitski (King's College). Title: Spectral asymptotics for compact Hankel operators.

Tuesday 28th October

15:00: Applied Mathemathics Seminar: Room: M/2.06
Speaker: John Pryce (Cardiff School of Mathematics). Title: The Forthcoming IEEE 1788 Standard for Interval Arithmetic.

Wednesday 29th October

12:10: Operational Research and Statistics Seminar: Room: M/0.34
Speaker: Prof. Robert John (Nottingham). Title: TBC.

Thursday 30th October

15:10: Mathematical Physics Seminar: Room: M/2.06
Speaker: Ian Leary (Southampton). Title: TBC.

November 2014

Monday 3rd November

14:10: Analysis Seminar: Room: M/2.06
Speaker: Christian Kühn (Graz University). Title: Schrödinger operators with delta-potentials on manifolds.

Wednesday 5th November

12:10: Operational Research and Statistics Seminar: Room: M/0.34
Speaker: Dr Ben Torsney (Glasgow). Title: Optimal Design, Lagrangian and Linear Model Theories: Further Developments on a Fusion.

15:10: Mathematics Colloquium: Room: E/0.15
Speaker:
Prof. Alison Etheridge. (University of Oxford). Title: Modelling evolution in a spatial continuum.

Monday 10th November

14:10: Analysis Seminar: Room: M/2.06
Speaker: Daniel Grieser (University of Oldenburg). Title: Eigenvalues of the Laplacian on triangles.

Tuesday 11th November

15:00: Applied Mathemathics Seminar: Room: M/2.06
Speaker: Natalia Kopteva (University of Limerick, Ireland). Title: Maximum norm a posteriori error estimates for parabolic partial differential equations.

Thursday 13th November

15:10: Mathematical Physics Seminar: Room: M/2.06
Speaker: John Hunton (Durham). Title: TBC.

Monday 17th November

14:10: Analysis Seminar: Room: M/2.06
Speaker: Christoph Fischbacher (Kent). Title: On the spectrum of the XXZ spin chain.

Tuesday 18th November

15:00: Applied Mathemathics Seminar: Room: M/2.06
Speaker: Robert Style (University of Oxford). Title: The mechanics of soft solids - breaking classical laws.

Thursday 20th November

12:10: Operational Research and Statistics Seminar: Room: M/0.34
Speaker: Dr Vadim Lozin (Warwick). Title: TBC.

Monday 24th November

14:10: Analysis Seminar: Room: M/2.06
Speaker: Lauri Oksanen (UCL). Title: TBC.

Tuesday 25th November

15:00: Applied Mathemathics Seminar: Room: M/2.06
Speaker: Xuesong Wu (Imperial College London). Title: TBC.

Wednesday 26th November

PG Open Day

15:10: Mathematics Colloquium: Room: E/0.15
Speaker:
Prof. Olavi Nevanlinna (Aalto). Title: TBC.

December 2014

Monday 1st December

14:10: Analysis Seminar: Room: M/2.06
Speaker: Ian Wood (Kent). Title: TBC.

Tuesday 2nd December

15:00: Applied Mathemathics Seminar: Room: M/2.06
Speaker: Matthias Heil (University of Manchester). Title: Wrinkly fingers: fluid-structure interaction in elastic-walled Hele-Shaw cells.

Thursday 4th December

15:10: Mathematical Physics Seminar: Room: M/2.06
Speaker: Andre Henriques (Oxford). Title: TBC.

Monday 8th December

14:10: Analysis Seminar: Room: M/2.06
Speaker: Beatrice Pelloni (Reading). Title: TBC.

Friday 12th December

Last day of lectures before Christmas Break

Wednesday 24th December - Sunday January 4th 2015

Christmas Closure Period (University Closed)

January 2015

No entries at this time

February 2015

Tuesday 3rd February

15:00: Applied Mathemathics Seminar: Room: M/2.06
Speaker: Helen Wilson (University College London). Title: Instabilities in viscoelastic fluids.

Tuesday 10th February

15:00: Applied Mathemathics Seminar: Room: M/2.06
Speaker: Dmitri Tseluiko (University of Loughborough). Title: TBC.

Tuesday 17th February

15:00: Applied Mathemathics Seminar: Room: M/2.06
Speaker: David Needham (University of Birmingham). Title: The evolution to localized and front solutions in a non-Lipschitz reaction-diffusion Cauchy problem with trivial initial data.

March 2015

Tuesday 17th March

15:00: Applied Mathemathics Seminar: Room: M/2.06
Speaker: Paul Milewski (University of Bath). Title: Modelling and computation of pilot wave-bouncing droplet dynamics in a Faraday problem.

Tuesday 24th March

15:00: Applied Mathemathics Seminar: Room: M/2.06
Speaker: Draga Pihler-Puzovi (University of Manchester). Title: TBC.

April 2015

No entries at this time

May 2015

No entries at this time