Skip to content
Skip to navigation menu

School Diary

To submit a new event for the school diary please use the following form or email mathswebteam@cf.ac.uk

May 2015

Monday 4th May

BANK HOLIDAY - Building and Library Open

Tuesday 5th May - Friday 8th May

Guided Study Week

Wednesday 6th May

12:10: Operational Research and Statistics Seminar: Room: M/2.06
Speaker: Prof. Mark Girolami (Warwick) Title: Differential Geometric Markov Chain Monte Carlo Methods.

15:10: Mathemathics Colloquium Seminar: Room: E/0.15
Speaker: Prof. Mark Girolami (Warwick) Title: Differential Geometric Markov Chain Monte Carlo Methods.

Monday 11th May - Friday 12th June

Spring Semester Examination Period

Wednesday 13th May

15:10: Mathemathics Colloquium Seminar: Room: E/0.15
Speaker: Prof. Bernard Schutz (Cardiff) Title: Data Science Challenges at Cardiff University

Thursday 14th May

15:45: Developing Mathematics in Healthcare: Room: M/1.04
Speaker: Mr Daniel Thayer (SAIL) Title: Answering Research Questions Faster: The Potential and Challenges of Linked Data Research.

Monday 18th May - Wednesday 20th May

Gregynog Wales Mathematics Colloquium

Thursday 21st May

15:10: Mathematical Physics Seminar: Room: M/0.40
Speaker: Neil J. A. Sloane FLSW (Rutgers and OEIS). Title: My Favourite Integer Sequences, or, Confessions of a Sequence Addict.

Monday 25th May

BANK HOLIDAY - Building and Library Open

Wednesday 27th May

12:10: Operational Research and Statistics Seminar: Room: M/2.06
Speaker: Dr Timm Oertel (Zurich). Title:A polyhedral Frobenius theorem with applications to integer optimization.

June 2015

Monday 1st June

10:00: Learning and Teaching Committee: Room: M/1.25

Tuesday 2nd June

15:10: Mathematical Analysis Seminar: Room: M/2.06
Speaker: Doaa Filali (Cardiff University) Title: Introduction on sub-Riemannian geometry.

Thursday 4th June

14:10: Fulbright Lecture on Hypergeometrics Room: M/2.06
Speaker: Prof. Mark Coffey (Colorado School of Mines) Title: TBC

Monday 8th June

10:00: School Administrative Panel Meeting: Room: M/1.25

Wednesday 10th June

14:10: Fulbright Lecture on Hypergeometrics Room: M/2.06
Speaker: Prof. Mark Coffey (Colorado School of Mines) Title: TBC

Friday 12th June

End of Spring Semester

10:00-16:30 London Mathematical Society Inverse Day

10:00: Spring Semester Extenuating Circumstances Panel: Room: M/1.25

14:00: Year Four Spring Semester Subject Board: Room: M/1.25

Monday 15th June

15:10: Mathematical Analysis Seminar: Room: M/2.06
Speaker: Lennie Friedlander (University of Arizona) Title: Parametric Dirichlet-to-Neumann operator.

Tuesday 16th June

11:00: Year Two Spring Semester Subject Board: Room: M/1.25

Wednesday 17th June

11:00: Year Three Spring Semester Subject Board: Room: M/1.25

Thursday 18th June

11:00: Year One Spring Semester Subject Board: Room: M/1.25

Wednesday 24th June

10:00: Final Year Composite Board: Room: E/0.15

15:10: Mathemathics Colloquium Seminar: Room: E/0.15
Speaker: Prof. Jesus De Loera (UC Davis) Title: Helly's theorem: A jewel of 20th century geometry and its new 21st century applications.

Thursday 25th June

12:00: Release of Maths Final Year Degree Classifications

Friday 26th June

School Staff Away Day (Millenium Stadium)

Monday 29th June

14:00: Year Two Composite Exam Board: Room: M/1.02

Tuesday 30th June

14:00: Year One Composite Exam Board: Room: M/1.02

July 2015

Friday 3rd July

09:00-16:00: Cardiff University Open Day

Wednesday 8th July

Release date for Maths Year One and Year Two Undergraduate Results

Friday 10th July

10:00: Undergraduate Board of Studies Meeting: Room: M/1.02

Monday 13th July

11:00: School Of Mathematics Graduation Ceremony (St David's Hall)

13:30: School of Mathematics Graduation Reception (Sherman Theatre)

August 2015

Monday 10th – Friday 21st August

Resit Examination Period

Thursday 13th August

A-Level Results Day

Thursday 27th August

10:00: Resit Period Extenuating Circumstances Panel: Room: M/1.25

Monday 31st August

BANK HOLIDAY – Building Closed

September 2015

Tuesday 1st September

10:00: Year One Resit Subject and Composite Board: Room: TBC

14:00: Year Two Resit Subject and Composite Board: Room: TBC

Monday 21st – Friday 25th September

Enrolment Week

Monday 28th September

Start of Autumn Semester Teaching

October 2015

No entries at this time.

November 2015

No entries at this time.

December 2015

Friday 11th December

Last day of lectures before Christmas Break

Thursday 24th December – Sunday 3rd January 2016

Christmas Closure Period (University Closed)