Skip to content
Skip to navigation menu

School Diary

To submit a new event for the school diary please use the following form or email mathswebteam@cf.ac.uk

March 2015

Wednesday 4th March

12:10: Operational Research and Statistics Seminar: Room: M/2.06
Speaker: Dr Dmitrii Pasechnik (Oxford). Title: TBC.

14:00 - 17:00 Board of Studies: Room: M/1.02

17:15: SWORDS Meeting: Room: M/0.40

Monday 9th March

15:10: Analysis Seminar: Room: M/2.06
Speaker: Roger Moser (Bath). Title: A reduced energy for Neel walls.

Wednesday 11th March

UCAS Open Day

Thursday 12th March

15:10: Mathematical Physics Seminar: Room: M/2.06
Speaker: Tom Leinster (Edinburgh). Title: The many faces of magnitude.

Monday 16 March

15:10: Analysis Seminar: Room: M/2.06
Speaker: Nikos Katzourakis (Reading). Title: Generalised solutions for fully nonlinear PDE systems and Vectorial Calculus of Variations in $L^\infty$.

Tuesday 17th March

15:00: Applied Mathemathics Seminar: Room: M/2.06
Speaker: Paul Milewski (University of Bath). Title: Modelling and computation of pilot wave-bouncing droplet dynamics in a Faraday problem.

Wednesday 18th March

15:00: Operational Research and Statistics Seminar: Room: TBC
Speaker: Haeran Cho (Bristol). Title: TBC.

UCAS Open Day

Thursday 19th March

15:10: Mathematical Physics Seminar: Room: M/2.06
Speaker: Moritz Weber (Saarbruecken).
Title: Quantum Groups meet Free Probability.

Monday 23rd March

15:10: Analysis Seminar: Room: M/2.06
Speaker: Michela Ottobre (Heriot Watt). Title: Analysis of irreversible Markov Semigroups

Tuesday 24th March

15:00: Applied Mathemathics Seminar: Room: M/2.06
Speaker: Draga Pihler-Puzovi (University of Manchester). Title: TBC.

Wednesday 25th March

UCAS Open Day

Friday 27th March

Last day of Teaching before Easter Break

April 2015

Friday 3rd April

BANK HOLIDAY (Good Friday) - Building Closed

Monday 6th April

BANK HOLIDAY (Easter Monday) - Building Closed

Monday 20th April

Resumption of Teaching after Easter Break

15:10: Analysis Seminar: Room: M/2.06
Speaker: Filippo Cagnetti (Sussex). Title: The rigidity problem for symmetrization inequalities

Wednesday 22nd April

15:00: Mathemathics Colloquium Seminar: Room: E/0.15
Speaker: Prof. Alessio Corti (Imperial). Title: TBC.

Monday 27th April

15:00: Geometry and Physics Seminar: Room: M/2.06
Speaker: Mark Hannam (Cardiff). Title: TBC.

Wednesday 29th April

14:00 - 16:00: Research Committee: Room: M/1.25

May 2015

Monday 4th May

BANK HOLIDAY - Building and Library Open

Tuesday 5th May - Friday 8th May

Guided Study Week

Monday 11th May - Friday 12th June

Spring Semester Examination Period

Wednesday 13th May

15:10: Mathemathics Colloquium Seminar: Room: E/0.15
Speaker: Prof. Bernard Schutz (Cardiff) Title: Data Science Challenges at Cardiff University

Thursday 14th May

15:45: Developing Mathematics in Healthcare: Room: M/1.04
Speaker: Mr Daniel Thayer (SAIL) Title: Answering Research Questions Faster: The Potential and Challenges of Linked Data Research.

Monday 18th May - Wednesday 20th May

Gregynog Wales Mathematics Colloquium

Monday 25th May

BANK HOLIDAY - Building and Library Open

June 2015

Friday 12th June

End of Spring Semester

10:00: Spring Semester Extenuating Circumstances Panel: Room: M/1.25

14:00: Year Four Spring Semester Subject Board: Room: M/1.25

Monday 15th June

11:00: Year Three Spring Semester Subject Board: Room: M/1.25

Tuesday 16th June

11:00: Year Two Spring Semester Subject Board: Room: M/1.25

Thursday 18th June

11:00: Year One Spring Semester Subject Board: Room: M/1.25

Wednesday 24th June

10:00: Final Year Composite Board: Room: M/0.40

Monday 29th June

14:00: Year Two Composite Exam Board: Room: TBC

Tuesday 30th June

14:00: Year One Composite Exam Board: Room: TBC

July 2015

Monday 13th July

11:00 School Of Mathematics Graduation Ceremony (St David's Hall)

August 2015

Monday 10th – Friday 21st August

Resit Examination Period

Thursday 27th August

10:00: Resit Period Extenuating Circumstances Panel: Room: M/1.25

Monday 31st August

BANK HOLIDAY – Building Closed

September 2015

Tuesday 1st September

10:00: Year One Resit Subject and Composite Board: Room: TBC

14:00: Year Two Resit Subject and Composite Board: Room: TBC

Monday 21st – Friday 25th September

Enrolment Week

Monday 28th September

Start of Autumn Semester Teaching

October 2015

No entries at this time.

November 2015

No entries at this time.

December 2015

Friday 11th December

Last day of lectures before Christmas Break

Thursday 24th December – Sunday 3rd January 2016

Christmas Closure Period (University Closed)