Skip to content
Skip to navigation menu

School Diary

To submit a new event for the school diary please use the following form or email mathswebteam@cf.ac.uk

December 2014

Wednesday 24th December - Sunday January 4th 2015

Christmas Closure Period (University Closed)

2015

January 2015

Monday 5th January - Friday 9th January

Guided Study Week

Wednesday 7th January

Functional Materials Far From Equilibrium (GW4)

Organized by Dr. Nicolas Dirr

Cardiff will be hosting the third meeting of the GW4 initiative 'Functional materials far from equilibrium’  on 7 January 2015.

Monday 12th January - Friday 23rd January

Autumn Semester Examination Period

Monday 26th January

Start of Spring Semester Teaching

Friday 30th January

09:00: Autumn Semester Extenuating Circumstances Panel: Room: M/1.25

February 2015

Monday 2nd February

11:10: Year Four Autumn Semester Subject Board: Room: M/1.25

Tuesday 3rd February

15:00: Applied Mathemathics Seminar: Room: M/2.06
Speaker: Helen Wilson (University College London). Title: Instabilities in viscoelastic fluids.

Wednesday 4th February

UCAS Open Day

10:00: Year Three Autumn Semester Subject Board: Room: M/1.25

Thursday 5th February

Developing Mathematical Models in Healthcare Seminar

15:45-18:00 Main Building, Cardiff University

-15:45-16:15: Refreshments– VJ Gallery, Main Building

-16:15-18:00: Seminar “The role of OR in redesigning healthcare services”, Dr Christos Vasilakis, University of Bath; followed by local talks from Cardiff Healthcare Modelling OR Group – Beverton Lecture Theatre (1.40), Main Building

Friday 6th February

11:10: Year Two Autumn Semester Subject Board: Room: M/1.25

Tuesday 10th February

15:00: Applied Mathemathics Seminar: Room: M/2.06
Speaker: Dmitri Tseluiko (University of Loughborough). Title: TBC.

Wednesday 11th February

10:00: Year One Autumn Semester Subject Board: Room: M/1.25

Tuesday 17th February

15:00: Applied Mathemathics Seminar: Room: M/2.06
Speaker: David Needham (University of Birmingham). Title: The evolution to localized and front solutions in a non-Lipschitz reaction-diffusion Cauchy problem with trivial initial data.

Wednesday 18th February

UCAS Open Day

12:10: Operational Research and Statistics Seminar: Room: TBC
Speaker: Christian Henning (UCL). Title: TBC.

Saturday 28th February

UCAS Open Day

March 2015

Wednesday 11th March

UCAS Open Day

Tuesday 17th March

15:00: Applied Mathemathics Seminar: Room: M/2.06
Speaker: Paul Milewski (University of Bath). Title: Modelling and computation of pilot wave-bouncing droplet dynamics in a Faraday problem.

Wednesday 18th March

15:00: Operational Research and Statistics Seminar: Room: TBC
Speaker: Haeran Cho (Bristol). Title: TBC.

Tuesday 24th March

15:00: Applied Mathemathics Seminar: Room: M/2.06
Speaker: Draga Pihler-Puzovi (University of Manchester). Title: TBC.

Friday 27th March

Last day of Teaching before Easter Break

April 2015

Friday 3rd April

BANK HOLIDAY (Good Friday) - Building Closed

Monday 6th April

BANK HOLIDAY (Easter Monday) - Building Closed

Monday 20th April

Resumption of Teaching after Easter Break

May 2015

Monday 4th May

BANK HOLIDAY - Building and Library Open

Tuesday 5th May - Friday 8th May

Guided Study Week

Monday 11th May - Friday 12th June

Spring Semester Examination Period

Monday 25th May

BANK HOLIDAY - Building and Library Open

June 2015

Friday 12th June

End of Spring Semester

10:00: Spring Semester Extenuating Circumstances Panel: Room: M/1.25

14:00: Year Four Spring Semester Subject Board: Room: M/1.25

Monday 15th June

11:00: Year Three Spring Semester Subject Board: Room: M/1.25

Tuesday 16th June

11:00: Year Two Spring Semester Subject Board: Room: M/1.25

Thursday 18th June

11:00: Year One Spring Semester Subject Board: Room: M/1.25

Wednesday 24th June

10:00: Final Year Composite Board: Room: M/0.40

Monday 29th June

14:00: Year Two Composite Exam Board: Room: TBC

Tuesday 30th June

14:00: Year One Composite Exam Board: Room: TBC

July 2015

Monday 13th July

11:00 School Of Mathematics Graduation Ceremony (St David's Hall)

August 2015

Monday 10th – Friday 21st August

Resit Examination Period

Thursday 27th August

10:00: Resit Period Extenuating Circumstances Panel: Room: M/1.25

Monday 31st August

BANK HOLIDAY – Building Closed

September 2015

Tuesday 1st September

10:00: Year One Resit Subject and Composite Board: Room: TBC

14:00: Year Two Resit Subject and Composite Board: Room: TBC

Monday 21st – Friday 25th September

Enrolment Week

Monday 28th September

Start of Autumn Semester Teaching

October 2015

No entries at this time.

November 2015

No entries at this time.

December 2015

Friday 11th December

Last day of lectures before Christmas Break

Thursday 24th December – Sunday 3rd January 2016

Christmas Closure Period (University Closed)