Find us >

The Future of Journalism: Risks, Threats and Opportunities

Thursday 10th and Friday 11th September 2015
Cardiff University, UK

Conference Details

Welcome to the fifth biennial conference – The Future of Journalism – hosted by the Cardiff School of Journalism, Media and Cultural Studies (JOMEC) at Cardiff University

The 2015 conference theme will be ‘Risks, Threats and Opportunities.’

Sponsorship for the conference is kindly provided by Routledge, Taylor and Francis, and the Cardiff School of Journalism, Media and Cultural Studies (JOMEC).

Conference Programme and Book of Abstracts

The final conference programme is now available to download. The accompanying book of abstracts is also available to download.

Conference Papers

The papers for Future of Journalism 2015 may be accessed by conference delegates (who have been issued with a password). The papers are therefore not published and copyright is held by the authors.

Many of the papers are works in progress; you should not cite or quote from any paper without the permission of the copyright holders. The majority of papers are now available.

View the conference papers

This page uses a cookie to remember the password.

Conference Venue

The conference venue, at Cardiff’s City Hall, is visible on this University Map as building number 55. It is only a 5-minute walk from the Greyfriars Road hotels.

Arrival and registration on the first day will be between 8.30am and 9.15am. Tea and coffee will be served. The welcome address from Professors Stuart Allan and Bob Franklin will be at 9.15am, and the opening plenaries at 9.30am.

Cardiff is small and very easily navigable on foot, it has a decent bus system and, should you require them, there are taxis at the station which can get you to city centre hotels at reasonable cost (usually around £5-6 for short trips in town). The two hotels with whom we have secured special conference rates are both on Greyfriars Road, which is a 10-15 minute walk from the Central Station (both trains and inter-city coaches are on the same site), and a 5-minute walk from our venue at the City Hall.

The Conference Organisers

This year’s conference is organised by a team within the School of journalism which consists of: Prof Stuart Allan; Dr Cynthia Carter; Dr Stephen Cushion; Dr Lina Dencik; Dr Iñaki Garcia-Blanco; Dr Janet Harris; Dr Arne Hintz; Prof Richard Sambrook; Prof Karin Wahl Jorgensen; and Dr Andy Williams.

Any queries about the conference should be emailed to