Skip to content
Skip to navigation menu

 

Upcoming training events

Graduate College Programme
Staff Development Programme
IT Skills Workshops

 Forthcoming Information Services training for the Graduate College Programme:

Accessing Archives 
Tuesday 27 January, 1400 - 1600

CorelDRAW: Using the Graphics Suite to Manipulate Images 
Wednesday 25 February, 0930 - 1230

Critical Appraisal of Research Papers - Qualitative 
Wednesday 26 November, 1330 - 1630
Tuesday 14 April, 1330 - 1630

Critical Appraisal of Research Papers - Quantitative
Monday 23 March, 0930 - 1630 

C Programming: An Introduction 
January/February tbc

C + + for Beginners 
(You must attend all three days)
November/December tbc

C + + Advanced 
(You must attend all three days)
April/May tbc

Data Visualisation for Communicating Research  
April tbc

Developing Systematic Literature Searches (Health and Social Care) 
Wednesday 3 December, 0930 - 1230

Developing Systematic Literature Searches (General)
Monday 13 April, 1330 - 1630

EndNote: An Introduction to Managing Your References 
Tuesday 14 October, 1000 - 1200
Tuesday 21 October, 1000 - 1200
Wednesday 29 October, 1000 - 1200
Thursday 6 November, 1400 - 1600
Wednesday 12 November, 1400 - 1600
Tuesday 18 November, 1000 - 1200
Thursday 27 November, 1000 - 1200
Wednesday 10 December, 1400 - 1600
Thursday 29 January, 1000 - 1200
Friday 6 February, 1400 - 1600
Thursday 12 March, 1000 - 1200
Wednesday 6 May, 1000 - 1200
Tuesday 7 July, 1000 - 1200

EndNote: Further Techniques for Managing Your References 
Thursday 20 November, 1000 - 1200
Tuesday 24 February, 1400 - 1600
Wednesday 24 June, 1000 - 1200

Enhancing Your Web Searching Skills 
Tuesday 4 December, 1000 - 1200
Tuesday 3 March, 1400 - 1600
Friday 1 May, 1000 - 1200

Finding Information for Research (Part Time and Distance Students) 
Wednesday 4 February, 1630 - 1830 (on-campus session)
Wednesday 18 February, 1000 - 1200 (webinar)

Java: An Introduction 
February/March tbc

Keeping Your Research Up-to-Date (Social Sciences) 
Tuesday 25 November, 1000 - 1200
Wednesday 6 May, 1400 - 1600

Library Catalogues, Electronic Journals, Dissertations and Theses (Humanities) 
Tuesday 11 November, 1000 - 1200

Microsoft Access: Using Access to Organise Your Data 
Tuesday 10 February, 0930 - 1230

Microsoft Excel: Using Functions and Formulae to Analyse Your Data 
Monday 24 November, 1300 - 1600
Wednesday 4 March, 1300 - 1600
Tuesday 5 May, 1000 - 1300

Microsoft Excel: Using Graphs and Charts to Present Your Data 
Wednesday 4 February, 1300 - 1600
Wednesday 24 June, 0930 - 1230

Microsoft Excel: Using Macros to Automate Tasks
Thursday 18 June, 1300 - 1600

Microsoft PowerPoint: An Introduction to Creating a Presentation 
Monday 17 November, 1000 - 1230
Thursday 12 February, 1400 - 1630

Microsoft PowerPoint: Enhancing Your Presentations 
Monday 23 February, 1400 - 1630
Thursday 25 June, 1400 - 1630

Microsoft Publisher: An Introduction to Desk-Top Publishing 
Tuesday 27 January, 0930 - 1230
Monday 27 April, 0930 - 1230

Microsoft Word: Working with Long Documents  
Monday 10 November, 0930 - 1330
Wednesday 19 November, 1300 - 1700
Thursday 27 November, 1300 - 1700
Thursday 4 December, 1300 - 1700
Thursday 11 December, 0930 - 1330
Wednesday 28 January, 0930 - 1330
Tuesday 3 February, 0930 - 1330
Monday 23 March, 1300 - 1700
Friday 24 April, 0930 - 1330
Monday 29 June, 0930 - 1330
Tuesday 14 July, 0930 - 1330

Qualitative Evidence Synthesis for Reviews 
Tuesday 24 February, 0900 - 1300

Social Media: Understanding and Exploiting its Potential for Research 
Tuesday 24 March, 0930 - 1230

SPSS: An Introduction
(You must attend both days)
Tuesday 11 and Wednesday 12 November, 1330 - 1630
Thursday 5 and Friday 6 February, 1000 - 1300
Monday 22 and Tuesday 23 June, 1330 - 1630

Systematic Reviews: An Introduction 
Wednesday 19 November, 1200 - 1330

UNIX / LINUX: An Introduction 
November and January/February tbc

UNIX / LINUX: Processing Data Using AWK and Perl Scripts 
December/January and February/March tbc

Visual Basic: An Introduction 
May tbc

Zotero: A Free Alternative to EndNote 
Thursday 11 December, 1000 - 1200
Tuesday 24 March, 1400 - 1600

 

 Forthcoming Information Services training for the Staff Development Programme:

Critically Evaluating Papers in Health & Social Sciences 
No upcoming dates

Endnote: Managing your References 
No upcoming dates 

Open Access and Citations: Essential Information for Researchers
No upcoming dates 

 

  Forthcoming IT Skills workshops are available