Skip to content
Skip to navigation menu


What are the ECDL Units ?

ECDL Test Centre logo

The current ECDL syllabus is Version 5.  To obtain a full ECDL certificate in this syllabus you need to pass each of the 7 units below:

Unit 1 - IT Security for Users

  • system performance security
  • information security
  • technology security
  • guidelines and procedures
  • data security

Unit 2 - Using the Computer and Managing Files/ IT fundamentals

  • using the operating system to access information
  • ability to use a computer and its operating system
  • use of tools such as print management, virus protection and compression software
  • ability to adjust settings, access help, restart your computer from failure
  • organise files and folders and operate in a desktop environment

Unit 3 - Word Processing

  • ability to use a word processing application, e.g. Microsoft Word
  • tasks include creating, formatting, and finishing small documents, use of cut and paste, copy and moving, generating tables, pictures & images
  • ability to perform a mail merge

Unit 4 - Spreadsheets

  • ability to use a spreadsheet application, e.g. Microsoft Excel
  • understand the concepts of a worksheet or spreadsheet
  • tasks include formatting and modifying a simple spreadsheet, applying formulas and creating graphs and charts

Unit 5 - Databases

  • ability to use a database application, e.g. Microsoft Access
  • understand the primary concepts of a database
  • tasks include, creating and modifying tables, queries, forms and reports, relating tables, manipulating and retrieving information using sort tools and queries, managing output from the database

Unit 6 - Presentations

  • ability to create a presentation using a suitable application, e.g. PowerPoint
  • create, format and prepare slide shows for presentation
  • tasks include manipulation of text, inclusion of pictures and images, creating simple drawn objects and charts, ability to animate a presentation

Unit 7 - Information and Communication

  • ability to use the World Wide Web
  • understand basic concepts of the Internet including security issues
  • tasks include the use of search engine tools to locate and retrieve information, completion of a web based form
  • ability to use email and understand simple concepts including security issues
  • tasks include ability to create, send and receive emails, techniques such as reply to and forwarding of emails, handling of attached files and the organisation of message folders