Skip to content
Skip to navigation menu


SWAN Self-Assessment Team

The SWAN Charter Implementation Group was set up to develop our initial self-assessment report in 2009, and continues to meet once a Semester to progress the Charter and to champion the SWAN initiative across the University.  The team also offers support to Schools that submit applications for SWAN recognition at silver or gold level.

The team consists of the following members:

Professor Terry Threadgold (Chair) Pro Vice-Chancellor for Staff and Diversity and Acting Head of School of History, Archaeology & Religion

Isabella Santamaria (Project Lead) Equality and Diversity Manager

Dr Liana Cipcigan - Lecturer in School of Engineering

Gaynor James - HR Officer in School of Engineering

Dr Paul Brennan - Reader in Institute of Cancer and Genetics

Professor Kerry Hood - Institute of Translation, Innovation, Methodology and Engagement

Professor Susan WongProfessor of Experimental Diabetes and Metabolism

Joanne Pugh - Human Resources Manager in School of Medicine.

Karen Fitzgibbon - Executive Officer - Human Resources in the School of Biosciences

Professor Mike Lewis - Dean of School of Dentistry and Director of Dental Division of Cardiff & Vale University Health Board

Martin Haynes - Manager of School of Dentistry

Professor Sheila Hunt - Dean and Head of School of Nursing and Midwifery, midwife and nurse

Professor Gary Baxter - Professor of Pharmacology and Head of the School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences

Professor David Wyn Jones - Head of School of Music

Sue Midha - Director of Leadership and Training

Dr Alyson Rees - Senior Lecturer in Social Work

Dr Katherine Shelton - Lecturer in School of Psychology

Professor Tim Wess - Deputy Pro Vice-Chancellor and Head of School of Optometry and Vision

Professor Annette Davies - Professor of Organisational Analysis in Business School

Dr Ryan Prout - Senior Lecturer in Hispanic Studies