Skip to content
Skip to navigation menu


University Administered Trusts

The Student Advisory Service administers a small number of grants, some funded by Cardiff University and others by independent charities who involve the University in their application process.

Each one has its own specific eligibility criteria. They are totally discretionary and are to help students who may be experiencing unforeseen financial crises. They should be seen as a last resort when all other avenues of rectifying the situation have been explored. The right to an award is not automatic.

Awards are often small Administered trusts; see below for further details, eligibility and how to apply.

The University Hardship Fund
Open to full time ug and pg students

The Women Medical Students Fund
Open to women medical students

Lillian Oldfield-Davies and Benjamin Narbeth Fund
Open to female students with extra costs associated with health issues.

Hilary Musgrave Memorial Trust & Normanton Fund
Open to year 3 onwards, mature medical students

The Alan & Cyril Body Trust
Open to full time home students in specified subjects.

The Worshipful Society of Apothecaries
Open to penultimate medical and pharmacy students.

The Michael Griffith Endowment Fund  

Open to Medical students

 Dr Byron Bassett Fund  

Open to Overseas students in specific subjects

Sir Ernest Cassel Educational Trust (Mountbatten Memorial Grants)

Open to final year Commonwealth students


NON-University Administered trust

Hanna Foundation Scholarship: Open to all Undergraduate students.  Deadline 31st October 2014

Santander Shareholders Relations Scholarship.  Deadline date 3rd November 2014